Sunrise at Angkor Wat

One of my special memories of Siem Reap are the two mornings, when I went over to Angkor Wat at 5am to watch the sun rise over the beautiful temple complex. It was such a beautiful experience and there were fewer people around compared to the crowds later in the day.

While writing my post on Siem Reap this week, I was going through the photos I took at Angkor and I felt like sharing this collection of 12 sunrise photos at Angkor Wat first.

DSC04173

DSC04175

DSC04030

DSC04031.JPG

DSC04033

DSC04034.JPG

DSC04035.JPG

DSC04036

DSC04037

DSC04043.JPG

 

DSC04048

reflection of angkor wat

My strongest recommendation to travelers visiting Angkor Wat would be to experience the sun rise over Angkor Wat, enjoying the place in peace and quiet before the crowds arrive. It is also easier to explore the place in the morning than under the energy draining afternoon sun.

Have you experienced a sunrise over Angkor Wat? Hope this photo collection has made you want to visit Angkor Wat, if you haven’t already done so!

[I am linking this post to Wanderful Wednesday, hosted by Snow in Tromso, Lauren on Location, The Sunny Side of ThisΒ and What a Wonderful World]
Wanderful Wednesday

A Hole In My Shoe
34 thoughts on “Sunrise at Angkor Wat

    • Thank you, Michelle. I agree watching a sunrise is a magical experience and I am fortunate that I enjoy waking up at dawn and savouring the quiet and peace on my own πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    • I have found sunrises in general to be a magical experience as there is something about watching dawn break over the horizon that seems to make it a miracle of nature. It was extra special watching the sunrise over an ancient city.

      Like

  1. Wow these pictures are stunning! There’s nothing better than getting up early to see a sunrise when visiting a new place! Sure it’s not always easy to drag yourself out of bed, but it’s always worth it! I love seeing places in the wee hours of morning, just as they begin to come alive. So peaceful and rewarding! Thanks for sharing Ahila πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful photos. I think my favorite is the shot with the sun on the horizon and the two palm trees. I also like the shots with the water in the foreground; the cloud reflections almost command attention. So lovely! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Early morning walks and reflections are amazing experiences, aren’t they? Thanks, Lorelei. By the way, the link when I click ‘California Globetrotter’ from your comment does not take me to your blog caliglobetrotter – hope you are aware of it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

