A few hours in Vatican City

Continued from Firenze

While I had planned to visit Vatican while in Rome, I had not thought of getting a ticket in advance to go for the sunday service at St. Peter’s Basilica. Looking at the long queue, I knew that I would not be able to get a ticket on that morning.

DSC01333.JPG

dsc01341

However, with the queuing people intent on getting inside the church, the square was becoming less crowded. So, I decided to sit outside in the square and take in the atmosphere, while watching the service on the giant screens set up in the square.

After an hour or so, I was ready to visit the Sistine chapel and only the chapel, as I didn’t want to be overwhelmed with all the artwork at the Vatican museum even before I had visited the chapel. I made my way into the chapel, which was packed, but I managed to find a seat on one of the benches lining the edges so that I could take in the artwork on the walls and ceiling of the chapel.

After the visit to the Sistine chapel, I felt like I needed to get out of the crowded museum so started walking away from Vatican city, till I reached Castel Sant’Angelo on its outskirts. The castle had been commissioned by Emperor Hadrian as a mausoleum for himself and his family. I loved the views from the top of the castle.

DSC01386.JPG

DSC01392.JPG

DSC01394.JPG

DSC01395.JPG

DSC01406.JPG

DSC01418.JPG

How was your experience of visiting Vatican city?

[Linking this post to City Tripping #46 , hosted by Mummy Travels and Wander Mum]

MummyTravels
22 thoughts on “A few hours in Vatican City

  1. Wonderful photos Ahila! By a stroke of luck I was standing in line on Christmas eve with my husband, years ago, unaware that we needed a ticket to go to mass. 🙂 We were young and two nuns took pity on us. In the pouring rain they gave us tickets, and we were ushered towards a side door at St. Peter’s. We saw Pope John Paul’s last Christmas mass only 3 pews away from him. Your pictures reminded me of that special time. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Ahila, Great photos of Vatican city. We went inside St Peter’s Basilica (it wasn’t a Sunday), but missed out on the Sistine chapel and the Caste Sant’Angelo. You seem to have been able to do a lot in a short space of time #citytripping

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think that’s wise of you to have only visited the Sistine Chapel – I would have done the same except that we had a hired tour guide (for the kids). There was too much emphasis on the lead-up when really all I wanted to do was stare up at the Sistine ceiling for a while.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I kind of tend to get claustrophobic and/ or quickly exhausted in crowded museums so if I have decided to go to one, I just focus on the main artwork that drew me there. I think the tour guide was a good choice, when visiting with the kids, though.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Those views are wonderful – I’ve been to Rome a couple of times but never made it up there. I do enjoy visiting Vatican City though, such an unusual place to see – I defy anyone not to get a bit overwhelmed by the sheer volume of art and the Sistine Chapel is always crowded. The basilica is amazing although I’ve never been on a Sunday morning. Thanks for linking up with #citytripping

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Cathy. Even if I didn’t get to go inside the basilica, I loved sitting on the steps in the square and simply enjoying the view and atmosphere of the place, while listening to the mass inside.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. That is great that you could sit down and admire the Sistine chapel. I remember it being fairly crowded when we went. I’m not familiar with Castel Sant’Angelo but you certainly got some wonderful views from there. #citytripping

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

